2 hands and 64 square feet

So I’m planning my garden.  And getting anxious to get it in the ground.

For anyone that doesn’t know me… I have this thing where once I get something in my head, I want to do it right away.  I have the seeds and the ground dug up (for the most part) so now I want to plant and grow it.  However, people keep telling me that it isn’t a possibility yet because of frost.  Damn frost!

And those forecasters aren’t helping any talking about cool weather for the entire week.  They should be fired.

While I can’t actually plant my garden yet, I can talk about it some.  I have started Cucumbers and peppers indoors. Also in my garden, I’m planning on putting… snap beans, pumpkins (for making jack-0-lanterns), sweet corn, carrots, zucchini, tomatoes, onions, and possibly small watermelons and potatoes.  My garden is 16 feet long and 4 feet wide.  The interesting part??  Trying to get all of the above food in 64 square feet.  I’m thinking that the hardest part will be the viney things. (pumpkins, cucumbers, zucchini, watermelons) into that area without choking each other or the other plants.

My thought is: one row of beans, carrots, and onions.  2 tomato plants, my pepper plants, 2 hills of potatoes, a couple groupings of corn stalks along the back of everything else…then all the viney things.  If needed I could move some of the veggies to the front flower bed or back flower bed.  Depending on light needs.  Maybe 2 rows of some of the items.  Still thinking it over.  Ya know, especially since I have time to think it over.  Damn frost.  Damn forecasters.  Damn Mother Nature.
~~~~~~~~~~

On another note: look up under my banner,  there are new pages to look at.  I’m working on adding a couple more, but those may not get up for a while.  The one that is ‘about’ me is long, but really is a good description of me.  I felt like I was back in school when they ask you to describe yourself and you feel like you are floundering.  Then I just wrote what I thought and there it is.  Enjoy!  And leave comments if you would like.  I like comments.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Gardening, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2 hands and 64 square feet

  1. Mary says:

    Zucchini is not a viney plant. Takes up a spot about 3 to 4 feet round but has no vines. I want to claim any extra you may have!! Please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

