Summer Reading

Today I signed the girls up for the Summer Reading program at our local library.  I also signed up our neighbor girl who is here all the time.  She wasn’t happy when I brought it up to her.  In fact she looked almost upset.  She informed me that she doesn’t like to read.

We talked and I told her about how she could read any books that she wanted and then we looked into the reading program for her age.  And after reading 3 books she will get a pass to one of the local water parks.  Well that right there sealed the deal for her.  She wanted in.  I told her about how every day or every other day they will read for 30 minutes. (my girls read 30 minutes every night already)  She looked unsure.

We looked around and found her a few books.  My girlies found their books on their own, knowing what to look for and where to look.  Lindsey wanted to start reading on the way home.  Once we got home Cassie and her headed to the basement and they read for 1 hour.  I am shocked.  And very proud.  I never was a big reader as a kid and now I don’t have time to sit long enough to read.  I do, however, love seeing other kids get into reading.  Even if at first it was a little forced.
~~~~~~~~~~

Tomorrow we are heading out for our first ‘outing’.  We will be going strawberry picking.  And by we I mean myself and the 3 girls (my 2 girls and Lindsey…yes I partially adopted the neighbor girl)  It should be fun and I’m hoping to get a lot of berries while eating them picking.
~~~~~~~~~~

Tonight I decided to take a few pictures of some of the flowers around the house.  I stopped by and talked to my garden too.  I’m so proud of my beautiful vegetables.  Yes, I’m sad…I can’t help it.  I’m growing things and keeping them alive.  YEAH!

Foliage

Flower with rain still on it

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Reading

  1. Papa Bear says:

    Wow. Your library has way cooler prizes. Haha. Ours gives away gift certificates to book stores and restraunts. Still not bad for just reading a few books! It was funny. I just put up a post about my own summer reading program at the library. I am enjoying your posts! Cheers-

  2. Paula says:

    I am impressed with the prizes as well, Papa Bear. Thank you for the compliments on my posts.

Leave a Reply

