Outing Day

Let me start out by showing you a picture I took of a tree because I thought it was cool.

Doesn’t it look like an eye looking at you??  I loved it when I saw it and had to take a picture.  The trees have eyes!
~~~~~~~~~~

Today was ‘outing’ day again.  This time I decided to head to a local park (one that we’ve never been to) for a few hours.  This park is also along a recreational outing was a trip to a local recreational trail.  We walked about a mile down the trail and I, of course, took pictures as we did.  After heading back, the girls played at the park for about an hour before we headed home.

Most of their time was spent on the swings.  And instead of sitting and watching them, I went to push them when they asked me to push them on the swings.  I believe I pushed them for over 30 minutes before I finally called it time to go.

I have to say that this summer has actually been fun with the kids.  I am not sure if it is just the fact that they are older or if it is because I am planning things so that we aren’t just wandering aimlessly through the summer, but I find myself less frustrated (mind you I still get frustrated with them from time to time…what parent doesn’t at some point) and we are all enjoying this summer.  I’m not even wishing for school to be back yet.  Though I am a little excited about supplies being put out in the stores.  I just like school supplies though.
~~~~~~~~~~

Tonight, Cassie’s friend from school is spending the night.  She has spent the night one time every week now for 3 weeks.  It seems to be a routine in the making.  I don’t mind though as this friend is actually very well behaved and the kids all get along together.  They also settle down for the night and go to bed decently every time.  That is the best part, I think.  I don’t have to spend part of my evening asking the girls to all settle down over and over.
~~~~~~~~~~

Monday I ended up at the ER with Cassie because she was on my floor in the fetal position crying.  I consulted with the doctor’s office first, but as they had no appointments open they suggested the ER.  I got Cassie and Kalli to the van and then headed to our favorite hospital.

Cassie had woken me at 4:00am complaining of her side hurting.  At 10:00 she was in the fetal position with it hurting so bad that she was shaking and nauseous.  Knowing that it was on the left side, towards the back, my first thought was a bladder/kidney infection.  Cassie, because of medical reasons, is more prone to these…yet hasn’t had ever had a kidney infection and it has been over 4 years since she had a bladder infection.

She had started the day with no fever, but was developing one as time went on.  And the shaking is what was the last straw for me.  I never like my kids being sick, but once they are shaking with pain…or fever…I can’t just sit anymore.  I’m in action mode.

Once at the ER, things went quite quickly.  They took a urine sample for testing, gave her an under the tongue medicine for nausea, gave her something for pain, and did abdominal x-rays.

The pain never completely went away, but at least things were lessened.

The verdict is that she has a bladder infection that was just becoming a kidney infection.  To show how serious they are about things though I will tell you that she is on an antibiotic every 6 hours.  This means that I have to get up in middle of the night to give her a pill.  Kinda crazy, but necessary.

Needless to say, I’m more tired then normal and in need of sleep.  It’ll be a week before she is done with her antibiotics though so no through the night sleep for me for a bit.  Today has been a rough day to me overall.  I’ve been nauseous and a bit off.  Not sure why, but I’m hoping that some more sleep will help.  One can hope.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

