Independence Day

It is 3:25am and I can’t sleep. I tried going to bed at midnight, but have been tossing and turning since. I finally gave up for a bit and decided to post.

Yesterday (though for me it still feels like today) was the 4th of July. Independence Day. And for me, the best holiday ever. I’m not sure why I like the independence day…if it’s all the patriotic stuff, the actual reason for the day, or if it is something else all together. Either way, it is my favorite holiday. So much so, that when my brother and I were younger we promised that we’d be together every independence day, no matter what.

Today wasn’t that much different then other years. My family got together and barbequed out for lunch. Then we headed to Andy’s parent’s house for dinner there. The kids played, had a small water fight, and over all a good time was had.
For some reason though, this year, we couldn’t quite get fully in the mood of the day. We didn’t buy any fireworks of any kind. The girls only played with some Snaps that were leftover from last year. We did our traditional going to our secret area to watch the fireworks, but something was still ‘off’. I’m still trying to figure out what it is.
~~~~~~~~~~

Today, or I should say later today, we will be heading to Becky’s cottage for a day of relaxation. Nothing super special, just a day of hanging out and trying to slow things down.

In everyday life, things are so rushed. Entire days are booked with errands, appointments, and other miscellaneous things. And when we visit the cottage there is none of that. Things slow a bit and you can do whatever you please. If you want to sit and read for hours, you can. Want to sit by a fire? Not a problem. Play some board games? Who picks the game first? There are no appointments booked and no errands to be run. Things are simple and you can slow down enough to enjoy the little things. All those little things that I’m trying to pay closer attention to, take in, and enjoy.

Tomorrow….er, today will be a good day. And that, my friends, is why I’m going to try to get some sleep now. It’s 4:00 so if I sleep fast I can probably get 4 hours in.

Hope everyone had a wonderful 4th of July!!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

