Weekend Recap

This weekend I’ve spent a good amount of time looking for new recipes.

Every so often I do this where I decide I need new things to make for meals and I spend a good amount of time scouring the internet for recipes that I think my family would be willing to think about trying.  It isn’t easy feeding these people.  They would be happy living on cereal and other boxed foods.  I am trying to find healthier meals that also give us some variety in our meals each weeks.  I’m considering sharing some of the results of my new meals on here.  If I can get the girls and Andy to try them.  I think this is where the saying ‘you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink’ comes into play.
~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday night Andy and I (the girls spent the night at my parents’ house) had Brady overnight.  And of course, this means that I fell even more in love with him.  Becky and her husband, Brian, went to see a baseball game and I got my buddy boy.  It was a win-win.

He was such a good boy and always leaves me considering having another baby.  Which of course, isn’t possible, but I can think about it.  This morning he fell asleep in my arms when it was nap time.  It was seriously so sweet that I could almost feel my uterus aching.  I just have to remind myself that it is easier to live through loving other people’s children then to be waking up every night to feed or calm my own baby.  Other people’s children can come, get loved up, I get my baby/toddler fix, I can spoil, and send home.  It really does work out rather nicely.  At least it does for me.
~~~~~~~~~~

Today my mom, the girls, and I went to a local theater to see “Joesph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.  It is one of the musicals that my girls have watched at nauseum.  The other obsessive-watched ones: Cats (Cassie’s favorite and they could probably sing every song word for word for you…if you’ll listen), Mamma Mia (Both girls love and can sing every word to every song…again, if you’d listen), and then there is Joesph (This is Kalli’s favorite and of course they know the words).  Trust me…I sometimes feel like I’m living in a musical.

I can’t complain too much though.  I mean, really.  How many 6 and 9 year olds do you know that watch and like musicals.  It is helping them be more well rounded and to keep their minds open to different kinds of music.  They listen to the music their friends listen to, oldies that my parents listened to (Cassie and I sing Calendar Girl by Neil Sedaka together on a regular basis), the music that I grew up listening to, country, some rap, and then the musicals.  I love the wide array that they are listening to.  Just wish I could add some other musicals in there – after a while the same music really starts to grate on one’s nerves.

The girls both loved the musical today.  Kalli was tired by the end, but said that she had a good time.  Cassie kept saying “that was so awesome!” and telling me how much better it was to see in person then watching the video.  The girls are already trying to figure out what (as Kalli calls it) production they would like to go see next.  Not surprisingly, Mamma Mia seems to be the census so far.  I really need to work on getting more musicals in the mix.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Homemaker, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Recap

  1. Sara says:

    I believe that someone we went to high school with is in that production of Joseph. Cassidy Dittmer (Heim). Don’t know what part she plays though.

    • Paula says:

      You are correct, Sara, Cassidy was in this production. She played Reuben’s wife. Kinda strange that people that the names of people we went to school with keep popping up.

  2. Sara says:

    Paula I have a great website for new recipes that I use. It’s http://www.recipezaar.com. They are all recipes that users submit to the site. You can bookmark them into a “cookbook” and also write your own (and read other’s) comments about the recipes you’ve tried. Hope you find some great ones on there!

Leave a Reply

