You’ve always wanted a plastic bag full of miscellaneous Legos!

It’s Saturday night and I’m exhausted.  I know…I’ve been saying that a lot lately.

The last 3 days I’ve been up early to set up for rummage sales.  And, of course, I didn’t get to sleep early any of the nights before those set ups.  Therefore, I’m very pleased that tomorrow I don’t have to get up early.  There isn’t another day of sitting in extremely humid heat hoping to sell something for me.

There is something about sitting around in a garage/driveway with your junk er…things scattered around you on tables.  Something about waiting for people to look at and through your stuff.  Hoping that they will like that stuff and want to buy it from you.  It’s just stuff, yet it feels almost like waiting for approval.  Do they like my stuff?  How much are they willing to pay for it?  Did I overprice it?  Under price it?

When I’m not busy with other customers, I watch what people look at.  Should I mark things down some?  How can I get people to buy what I want gone?  Is there a way to use ‘the force’?  “You want to buy that microwave.”  “You need that children’s slide.” “You’ve always wanted a bouncy horse”

As nice as it is to have a rummage sale and sell some of the things you no longer want or need, it is a lot of work.  It is also a lot of work to will people to pull over instead of driving by.  Though maybe that is just me.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

