Supporting causes and my children

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

On Saturday, the girls and I bonded by having fun while supporting the cause.  The three of us went to a local hair salon and had a pink hair extension put in each of our hair.  Yes, I said pink hair extension.

Right now certain salons are teaming up with the Ribbon of Hope Foundation to raise money for people in Northeastern Wisconsin that are suffering from breast cancer.  The program is called Extending Hair Extending Hope.  This program is a way for people to show their support in a visual way.

For a $10 donation to the Ribbon of Hope Foundation you can get a pink human hair extension put in and to show your support visually.

Cassie’s pink extension

It was something that was a blast for the girls and I to do and it gave us a platform for me to tell the girls what Breast Cancer is, why we need to be part of making others aware of it, and support those that are diagnosed with it.

Of course, we also talked about seeing how much a extension cost normally and possibly get one per head down the road just to have fun.  Being a girl is about having fun after all, right?

~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday afternoon the girls, Andy, and I joined Andy’s parents apple and pumpkin picking.  A good time was had by all and I now have tons of apples to make cakes, pies, and apple sauce with.  Anyone want anything apple made??  I also have some pie pumpkins which I am going to freeze some of, but not before I get some pumpkin things made.  Mainly pumpkin bread.  Yum!!

Cassie and Kalli with an apple tree

~~~~~~~~~~

Tonight I spent a good part of the evening walking alongside Kalli holding her hand.  This seems fine until I add in the fact that she was on roller skates.  For anyone that knows Kalli,  you understand why I point this part of my evening out.  For anyone that doesn’t know her, I’ll just say that she isn’t very graceful good at balancing.  She is the child that use to run into the wall all the time when running around.  It is like she didn’t see the wall and therefore didn’t swerve.  The doctors assure me though that her sight is perfect.

She wants to learn to roller skate and as much as I wanted to let her figure it out on her own, I dreaded the screaming that would surely require a trip to the ER to stitch up her forehead/lip/elbow/skull.  In fact, why don’t you just fill in the blank.  Kalli needed stitches or a cast because she __________ while learning to skate.

I know that she is going to fall down.  And I know that she will probably hurt herself. (though she is wearing elbow and knee pads)  Usually when she does something that makes me nervous I just turn around and then wait for any crying that would signify that I need to pick her up and cuddle her.  Tonight, though, I just didn’t want to go to the ER.  Which was something I’m sure would happen.  I’m paranoid like that.

Therefore, I walked up and down the driveway and then up and down the road holding her hand while she tried to skate.  When she would fall I would hold her arm up and keep her from falling on her bottom hard.  I’m sure a broken tailbone would be in her future otherwise.  I’d pick her up and we’d continue.

Now tell me that I don’t love that child.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

