December 9, 2010

There is white stuff falling from the sky and the ground is covered by it.  I’m, personally, not a fan of it.  The girls are ecstatic.  Silly children.

I have so much to catch up on and more then likely I won’t get it all done tonight, but I’ll get there sooner or later.  Hopefully.

Let’s back up to December 4, 2010.  This day was special because it was a the birthday of a certain little boy in my life.  A little boy that has me wrapped around his little fingers.  It is also the only little boy in my life. 🙂  The 4th was Brady’s first birthday and, though I wasn’t able to be there for the party (other commitments and sick child), I hope that he had a very good day.  I do hear that he made out present wise pretty good.

It’s hard to believe that he is one already.  Becky and Brian have a one year old.  They have survived that hard first year and have come out of it with only a few bruises and bags under the eyes.  Congratulations guys!

~~~~~~~~~~

Our house is officially decorated.  It took a few days to decide everything that I wanted to do and to go through the decorations we have, sort them – pack some up to get rid of, and then clean up the bins and other odds and ends.

Here are a few pictures.

This is the little vase that I put fake flowers in.  I change them out by holiday or season. It’s something little, but it adds a little to the bathroom.

Here is part of the nativity set that my mom made for me.  It is gorgeous and I really wish that I had more space to put up the entire thing.  This is on top of our little pantry that we have and this year, like last year, we have only part of the party that made it to my little nativity set.  One of the kings showed up (the others didn’t stop to ask for directions, a shepard with one sheep (though he is holding one too – he isn’t that good of a shepard I guess since he only has one and a baby left), one cattle lowing, the donkey that brought Mary and Joesph to the scene, and of course Mary and Joesph.  Baby Jesus is hidden for now, but will make his appearance on Christmas Eve.  Hopefully one day I’ll have a place for the entire set to go up, but for now I make due.

Finally, there is the picture of Cassie and Kalli showcasing our undecorated tree.  There are lights on it, but no ornaments yet.  Our cute little tree now has all it’s decorations adorning it and the star topping it, but I haven’t gotten a picture of it yet.  I’ll work on that for the next post.  Which will maybe be tomorrow.  No promises though.

~~~~~~~~~~

Tomorrow is the girls’ winter concert at school.  Last year was their first year at their current school and at the winter concert I found out that they actually sing Christmas music.  I was surprised as most schools no longer do that, but instead stick to winter songs.  When I sat through the concert I found myself proud of what our school was doing and how it was taking a stand in comparison to the other schools.

After the concert, I approached the music teacher and commented on the music choices.  She said that her first year there she decided to try doing actual Christmas music.  At the end of the concert there was an elderly gentleman sitting off to the side after people filed out of the gym.  He was crying.  She approached him to see if he was okay and he assured her that he was.  He then thanked her for bringing Christmas back into the school and said he was impressed with her.  At that point she decided to keep Christmas music every year after.  And I, for one, hope that she stays at our school through the girls’ time there.  I enjoy hearing the music that I sang in school for concerts before the schools started to worry about hurting feelings and went to ‘winter’ music.

~~~~~~~~~~

Well, I’m off for now.  Hope to get some kind of a post done for tomorrow.  And after taking about a week off from posting, I’m ready to jump back in to posting.


 

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

