’tis the season to be crazy

We are down to the crazy time of the year where everyone is scrambling, trying to get last minute things done and cram in as much holiday fun as humanly possible.

I am no exception to this craziness.

Yesterday I handed out 9 gifts to teachers at the girls’ school.  These gifts were given to the teachers and staff that have had an impact on the girls’ lives this year.  I then came home and slowly started checking things off of my “to get done in the next 48 hours” list.  Seriously…I have a list.  It covers a page of a loose leaf paper.  Most of it is cleaning things that don’t get done daily, but some are holiday things that need to be finished.  Fortunately, Andy and the girls are off today so we should get some of these things checked off quickly. (At least it is fortunate for me.  They may have a different opinion of it.)

Last night with the help of the girls and Cassie’s friend, Jasmine, we got the basement straightened and vacuumed, cookies decorated, and I cleaned my desk off.  My desk is the official drop zone.

Pretty darn yummy looking…yes?

~~~~~~~~~~

Tomorrow morning, at 1:56 a.m., I will have a 10 year old.  This thought just boggles my mind.  I mean I’m so proud of the young lady that she is becoming.  She is gorgeous, smart, and an all around awesome person.  She has strength that many people wish for, a sense of humor like her mother’s, and when needed….determination that makes you stare in awe. (though I’d love for that determination to come out more when math is involved)

(As I’ve always told my girls). I love her more then all the stars in the night sky.  I love her more then all the blades of grass on the ground.  Yet, there is something about her going into the double digits that makes my mind spin.  Am I even old enough to have a 10 year old?  I mean obviously I am, but where did that time go?

Somehow we entered a worm hole in the time continuum because I remember her birth and I remember that evening, when the nurse got me up to walk around.  I walked down the entire hall to the NICU because I wanted to see my baby.  Next thing I know my baby is in fourth grade, getting close to being as tall as me, and is 10 years old.

One thing is for sure.  I have to find that worm hole again to get back to when my little girl was little.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

