Do you know the Muffin Man?

Last Thursday night was a fun night.  Kalli was coughing from the time she went to bed until I went to bed.  I decided to give her some cough medicine so that perhaps she could get some good sleep.

Bad idea.  Waking her caused her stomach to become enraged and she vomited.  She was shaking, running 102 temp, and still couldn’t stop coughing.  Once the coughing settled some I tried to move her to her own room.  Waking her seemed to be a horrible idea that night because she vomited again.  (Side note: It is a good thing that she is aware of herself and able to tell you when she starts feeling sick so you have time to get a bucket/pail.)

Of course, this brought on another coughing marathon.  I let her lie in my bed more while I debated doing a steam treatment with her in the bathroom, taking her out into the cold air outside, or going downstairs to sleep with her on the couch so she’d be sitting up more.  While I had my internal debate, she passed out into a deeper sleep.  I went and got her bed ready for her and literally carried all 47 pounds of her sleeping body to her room and laid her in bed.  There was no way I was waking her.  I learn from mistakes.  At least most of the time.

She slept until 6am and then returned to coughing.  The girl is persistent, I’ll give her that.

Of course, I couldn’t send her to school with all the coughing and the fever so I sent emails to the proper people and she took her spot on the couch.  And to prove how sick she really was…she took a 2.5 hour nap in the morning until I had to wake her to go to the doctor’s office. (I wasn’t going to mess with this because she has been coughing for over 2 months prior to getting worse Thursday night)  After her appointment, she slept on and off for the rest of the day.  Only leaving the couch to get a drink or use the restroom.

Yes, Zoe kept her company all day.  She was taking care of her girl.  And yes, that is our puke bucket in the lower corner.  No worries though – it’s empty and clean.

Good news is that she is now doing better, still coughing some though, and is back at school.  I really don’t like the girls missing school if it can at all be avoided.

Things are pretty much back to normal now, with the exception that yesterday I started feeling off and now I have symptoms of which all point to a head cold.  I started taking vitamin C and upping my intake of oranges in hopes of combating whatever it is my body is getting.  At this point, I’d love to have everyone in this household feeling 100% for even just a little bit.

~~~~~~~~~~

Tonight I decided to make muffins for us to all have for breakfast tomorrow morning.  I looked for a recipe and found one on my favorite site, All Recipes.  The ones I decided on were chocolate chip (I know…healthy).  You can see the actual recipe here.

I mixed them up and baked them without telling the girls what I was making. (they were playing in the basement)  I didn’t follow the recipe completely though because I added some extra chocolate chips to finish up the bag I had.  I’m sure no one will complain.

The girls were thrilled when they saw what I had made and are very much looking forward to breakfast.  As am I.  And look at me…Susie Homemaker….Andy and I were already talking about the fact that I have frozen strawberries and blueberries in the freezer in the garage.  I could easily substitute those in place of the chocolate chips.  Yum.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Homemaker and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

