It’s here…

It’s official.  Summer is here.

I am finally feeling back into the swing of things after our two week vacation.  The girls and I have gone back to what worked for us last summer.  This means that on Mondays and Fridays they are in charge of figuring out what to do.  This day usually includes some whining about being bored or asking to play with electronic entertainment.

On Tuesdays we go to the library to get new books and then have lunch with Becky at a park near her work.

Wednesdays are outing day and this summer we are taking advantage of our local movie theater and their $2/person kids movies in the morning. The girls are loving this and I’m hoping that as summer goes on we can do a movie in the morning and a little something else in the afternoon.  We need to get out of the house and do something.  I’m thinking that parks, museum, zoo, and other “field trips” are in our future these coming weeks.

Thursdays are our artsy/crafty days and I try to find something for the kids to do that keeps them busy for a bit.  Some days this is as simple as painting with watercolors.  I’m going to be starting to work on scrapbooks with the girls.  I figure that we will start with each of them making their own vacation book.

The kids like our routine, I like the fact that we get to do things together that we all enjoy, and in the end we all love the fact that summer is a time that we treasure.  Last year I felt as though summer flew by.  Before I knew it it was time for the girls to go back to school and I was a little sad about it.  In summers before that I watched the clock as the days went past and I wondered when I could finally send them back to the teachers.

I am not sure if it is partly due to the fact that they are older and therefore able to do more things or if I’ve just grown some with them and finally found my nitch.  Either way we are happy now in the summer and it is something that we look forward to.

Well…that is except for Cassie.  From time to time she breaks down crying for no reason other then she misses school and her friends.  I know… a 10 year old who misses school!  Who woulda thunk?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

