Garden Update

Alright, Mother Nature…What is going on?

Last year I had a decent garden.  Zucchinis, tomatoes, cucumbers, and beans.  Lots of vegetables and a proud gardener.

This year I planted tomatoes, zucchini, broccoli, cucumbers, beans, onions, and pumpkins.  For my friend I planted two types of peppers, cabbage, corn, and watermelon.  Mother Nature hasn’t been very nice to me this year though.

My friend’s peppers and watermelon never grew.  Though, honestly, she got them to me quite late and, therefore, didn’t get to start them out ahead of time.  The corn got torn up or something.  I’m not sure what happened.  One day they were small, but okay.  The next day something or someone had knocked them over and dismantled them.  Maybe it was suppose to be a crop circle gone horribly wrong.  Though with only 6 stalks it would have been a small crop circle anyhow.

As for my crops…  I’d like to preface by saying that I planted 2 plants of beans, 2 Big Boy tomatoes, 3 zucchini, 2 broccoli, 2 cucumber, a small row of onions and 2 pumpkin plants.  So here is how my plants are producing.

Beans: They died off early and I have no idea why.
Tomatoes: They are finally starting to ripen and there aren’t all that many to begin with.
Zucchini: I’ve had tons of flowers but only 5 zucchinis and they stay very small.
Broccoli: I have greenery.  That is all though.  Just leaves.
Cucumbers: I have one small mis-shapen one that isn’t even ready to be picked yet.
Onions: No idea….they are underground, ya know.
Pumpkins: They’ve grown long and had TONS of flowers.  No pumpkins though.  None…not even a little baby one.  It is almost September.  There should be something that would ripen over the next month, right?

Last year by now we had tons of tomatoes and zucchini. And I was picking beans almost everyday.  I hadn’t attempted broccoli last year and though I tried pumpkins last year I ended up with  none.

So what’s up Mother Nature?  Why are you hatin’ on me?  Wait?  Is it just me or are you doing this to everyone?

Here is my plan for next year.  Screw pumpkins.  Two seasons of nothing has left me bitter.  I could put something else there and attempt new foods.  Broccoli has bored me and therefore I’m not growing it.  As for everything else, I think I am going to try again and cross my fingers for better results.

Not that my family eats many vegetables, but I’m working on it.  One of my goals is to grow enough tomatoes that I could make and can some sauce to offset purchasing sauces for spaghetti, lasagna, pizza and such.

I’m working on trying to get zucchini into our dinners.  As of now, though, I can get everyone to enjoy zucchini bread.  Yum!  It counts…doesn’t it?

This growing season is just not being kind to us.  Soil may have something to do with it but across the street they seem to have a decent garden.  I’m going to add in “good” soil and hope for better next year.  Just not sure what soil to add in at this point.

I’m also going to do a lot of talking nice to my plants.  Maybe camp out with them.  Sing songs and tell stories around a campfire.  Perhaps play truth or dare.  I dare them to grow strong and produce delicious veggies!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Gardening, Homemaker and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

