September 9, 2011

Let me start out by saying that today is a very special day.  Today is Andy and my anniversary.  Eleven years ago today we were married.  Eleven years ago I married my soul mate and the person that makes me whole.  On that day I said the wonderful words, “I Do” to the person that I know will always be my partner in this marriage and be at my side.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Yesterday I learned a little bit of what it is like to have 3 young children.  I was watching my nieces Kaitlynn and Olivia along with Becky’s little boy Brady.  They all happen to be under the age of 3.  Kaitlynn will be 3 in November, Brady will be 2 in December, and Olivia will be 1 later this month.  I have to admit that I was a little nervous about being so outnumbered with such little ones.  It isn’t like you can go take care of one while leaving the others unattended.

At some points it felt a little like herding sheep.  Trying to keep them all in the living room and from wandering.  Keep in mind that my girls are 3.5 years apart at ages 7 and 10.  There is a big difference between having two kids that far apart and taking care of three children all under the age of 3.  I’m a newbie at having three little ones around and therefore, felt a bit overwhelmed at times.

Kaitlynn, Brady and Olivia – Look they all sat together for Auntie Paula!! I took advantage of the opportunity.

Kaitlynn gave hugs…. (Brady wasn’t so into it)

I have to say that going to the bathroom was an experience.  All 3 of the kiddos decided to follow me like little ducklings and wouldn’t listen when I told them that they could go play in the living room and that I’d be right there.  It is one thing to go to the restroom with your own children following you (mine are broken of that now) but having 3 children that are not yours standing there makes things… awkward.

They watched some TV together

The kiddos even watched the garbage truck and recycle truck come.

Cassie and Kalli had an early release so they arrived home a little after lunch time.  I have to admit I was happier then normal to see them.  It meant that I wasn’t on my own anymore, that I had reinforcements, and that I could go bathroom by myself.  The little ones all adore Cassie and Kalli.  Cassie and Kalli love them all too.  The girls played with them and Cassie read to Kaitlynn and Brady.  At one point Cassie asked for my help.  She looked pained and informed me that she was reading the same book to Brady for the 4th time.  I laughed and welcomed Cassie to ‘babysitting’.

Reading “Find the Puppy” for the 5th or 6th time

Cassie is quickly finding out the highs and lows of ‘babysitting’.  Another one of the moments that she silently mouthed help to me was while Kaitlynn was feeding Cassie an imaginary bottle while singing Rock-a-Bye Baby to her.  Cassie’s head was leaned back against the couch as Kaitlynn was pushing her fist (the bottle) into Cassie’s mouth.  I then introduced Cassie to the fine art of distraction and redirecting attention.

Yes…my living room is a disaster.  It was like a tornado hit it.

A little after 3:00 Brady went home.  Soon after that Cassie was sitting on the couch and Kaitlynn was sitting on the floor next to her.  The next time I looked, Kaitlynn was leaning back against Cassie’s legs sound asleep.

Cassie did a good job at helping tire out the little girlie

I’m convinced that Cassie is going to be a wonderful babysitter and then, later, mommy.

I survived my first day with 3 little ones and I’m much more sure of myself for the next time I have all of them.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

