November 17, 2012

Day 17 – Cassie has been taking violin lessons at school for a total of 5 weeks now. Three of those weeks they have actually been using the bow. Before that they were just plucking and learning the finger placement for different notes. Tonight Cassie does her practicing and I am impressed with how she is doing. She is playing Old McDonald, Ode to Joy, Jingle Bells, Silent Night, and several others. And you can tell what it is that she is playing. Always a bonus when you can recognize the song that they are playing.

At this point she is writing under each note what letter the note is but from there she knows the fingering part. I’m looking forward to seeing if she can play without this cheat as time passes. That is where I lost all interest in playing flute. I couldn’t ‘read’ the music. If I could put my cheat letters under, I could do somewhat descent. I also didn’t practice like I should have. I was a slacker way back then too.

Cassie is practicing almost daily and i have her go through all her practice pages and most songs each time. I’m hoping the repetition and consistency will make playing easier for her. I want her to enjoy violin and would like her to stick with playing into high school.

I can hope. I really want her to have a hobby and something to help keep her in different groups throughout school.

The nicest part about all of this is that the violin isn’t as squeaky and horrible to listen to practicing on as I thought it be. Yea for the violin.

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

