November 18, 2011

Day 18 –

Recently I’ve been trying to be more present with my girls.  I feel like I’ve gotten into this bad habit of playing on my phone while eating or waiting somewhere instead of actually talking.  I’ve been too busy doing things and because of this I feel like I’m not taking advantage of these years of the girls’ lives where they actually want to spend time with me.  I’m not doing them any justice by being too busy.

Last weekend I made a date with Kalli and took her to A&W to share a root beer float.  We sat and talked about whatever it was Kalli wanted to.  She loved the individual time and, even though she had the beginnings of a cold, she was thrilled to share a float (separate straws and spoons – I love her, but not her cold) and talk to me about what was on her mind.

Tonight Cassie and I stole away to my bedroom and we read 4 chapters of a book that she and I picked out from her school library.  It is on bullying and is giving us a platform to discuss things that I’m sure will come up in the coming years as she is making her way into middle school.

I’m trying to remind myself to slow down some and enjoy these years while they last.  Too soon they will be too busy for me and their lives will turn more to friends and things that don’t always include momma.

If all else fails, I can always make them help me with the laundry and dishes and straightening and ……   You get the idea.

And for anyone who wants to see my baby practicing her violin, here ya go.  Note: she has only had 3 lessons using the bow.  She has her Christmas concert in one month so they are starting to practice songs now.

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

