Growing older

How do you know that you are getting older?

Sure there is that whole hair color changing thing. And the fact that little wrinkles start to appear. Let’s not forget the aches and pains that some of us get at too young of an age.

A couple days ago Kalli went to a birthday party for a friend at a local roller rink. Even though she isn’t so good at the skating, she has fun trying. While I watched her attempts to carefully skate, I found myself very nostalgic for the time when I roller skated all the time. I was good at it too…if I do say myself. At one point I even wanted to live in my skates.

As I watched the young kiddos skating/falling all over the place all I could think about was how I’d love to get on some skates. However, scenarios of broken hips, fractured wrists, and sprained ankles flooded my thoughts. My brain started sending me messages…pain bad…along with the question of who will do everything around the house? Mind you, I know that Andy would step up to take care of things but it isn’t the same as doing it yourself and knowing that things are done the way you want them to be. That is just my OCD talking. It is a little particular about how things are done.

When we were leaving the roller rink there were kids jumping off the side of the stairs. There is no railing there and it is about 3 feet jump. Nothing big for those whippersnappers. Years ago I would have jumped down that without thinking. Now, though, my brain runs through all the outcomes.  Things like broken or sprained ankles, broken hips (seeing a obsession with broken hips?), and just plain falling on my face.

I’m not that young anymore and I worry about my body falling apart.  And, while I don’t know this for sure, I think that I may need my body for the rest of my life.  Having it fall apart in my thirties would leave me with a long time to go body-less.  I’m not sure I’m ready to lose my functioning body and become a half robot like Darth Vader.  Though I’m sure I’d be a hit with some of the geeky part of the family.

Is anyone else out there worried about their too quickly aging body or is it just me?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Growing older

  1. Trina Bronander says:

    First of all— Darth Vader is part Robot!?! Hmmm… guess I should pay attention. #2- I love that you used the word whippersnappers in your post— I am going to try and use that twice in the hospital today. thanks for the sunshine 🙂

Leave a Reply

