Falling Short

I saw this on Facebook today and I had to laugh.  It explains how I feel so often. 

someecard

So many times I feel inadequate as a mother and wife.  I feel like I should be doing more.  I see others and feel like I’ve just fallen short.  I don’t spend enough time with the girls, there isn’t always a completely balanced meal on the table by a certain time, and my house is rarely completely clean.  From time to time it even looks worse then ‘lived in’. 

I have a hard time sticking to a cleaning schedule, but I continue trying.  The hardest part for me to keep up on is our ‘dump’ zones….the kitchen table, the counters, and my bedroom.  I cringe at the idea of anyone popping over and will try to meet people outside just so that they don’t have to see our mess. 

Don’t get me wrong…things around here don’t get ‘dirty’.  Just cluttered and disorganized.  It never takes long to pick up and get the place looking better.  It is just the “getting there”.  Maybe I should take lessons from someone.  Or better yet…hire little fairies to keep the place tip top.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Homemaker and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Falling Short

  1. It is hard. The balance is difficult to attain. It is easy to compare our lives with the Jones’s and think that they have it all together. They don’t. They just have mastered hiding it better- and nothing gets better when it’s hidden. ❤

  2. Alicia says:

    If it makes you feel any better I just cleaned the toilets for the first time since my second son was born. He’s 11 weeks tomorrow. YIKES! I would so much rather cook than clean! My “spare” time tends to go to that! 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    Haha, that me laugh too! There is a difference between filthy and messy and if you have children at home messy will happen everyday, and most people know how to spot the difference. Don’t let that keep you from opening your doors. Perfection only exists in magazines and the movies, don’t get discouraged. ~Blessings~

Leave a Reply

