Hats and Gloves and Scarves, oh my!

Fall is among us, people.  And Winter is trying to creep up just a little too fast for my liking.

Last week Kalli came home reporting that she had seen snowflakes during her recess.  Snowflakes?!?!  I realize that I live in Wisconsin and that it IS that time of the year when these type of things happen, but I don’t necessarily have to be happy about it when it does happen.

Our high temperatures this past week were in the low to mid 40’s and this meant that it was time to pull out all the winter gear.  There was no putting it off and hoping that a sweatshirt would be enough anymore.

I headed down to the basement and pulled out the bin of hats, gloves, and scarves.  It was rough as I lugged it upstairs, knowing that it meant winter was right around the corner.  I may have shed a tear.

~~~~~~~~~~

Cassie is still in the process of healing from her surgery almost 2 weeks ago.  As I predicted, her wound opened up after the stitches dissolved and let go.  For about 4 days I was worried that I would have to bring her in for infection.  Things looked quite red and irritated and there was greenish puss.  Sorry for the over-share of information.  Instead of heading for the doctor’s office, I went into nurse mode and we started hot compresses daily and airing things out well.

I’m happy to say that things are looking much better.  Things are now a healthy pink color and there is no discharge.  I’m a pretty good un-certified nurse, if I do say so myself.

I’ve had to do so many things with Cassie that I never thought I’d be able to do.  Things that made me nervous when I was assigned with them, but now seem like nothing.  Cassie once came home with a PICC line that I had to mix and give drugs through.  I think that may have been the one that made me the most nervous…She was so sick and I was worried about screwing up.  But we did what we had to.  And we made it.

All this is to say that things have always been an adventure with Cassie, but we come out stronger and more sure of ourselves.  She will heal and be all the more strong for the struggle.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hats and Gloves and Scarves, oh my!

Leave a Reply

