NaBloPoMo – Day 7

What to post about…that is the question.

This is the problem that I run into during NaBloPoMo every year.  I usually start good and I have some days that I have things to share.  Then I come to days where I am yawning and looking at the clock wanting to go to bed, but I haven’t posted yet and I don’t want to ruin my streak.  So I stare at the screen, I ask Andy what I should post about, and I continue to yawn.  In case you’re wondering…Andy’s answer is that I should post, “Here is your post.  Good night.”  Not exactly what I’m going for, but I can’t say that I haven’t considered it.

~~~~~~~~~~

On Monday, in 4 days, Cassie will be one month out from her revision surgery.  Normally we would be headed down to Milwaukee to have her one stitch out, the balloon deflated, and the tube removed.  However, the doctor told me that this is all within my skill set by now and that there was no real reason for me to drive 2 hours for something that I could do myself.  He sent along a syringe to deflate the balloon and told me to call with any concerns and such.

I have to admit that it feels good to know that the doctors realize that I know what I’m doing.  It also makes me wonder if I should have gone into nursing.  I feel like I know so many things because of Cassie and I’ve had to learn more then I ever imagined that I would know.  This isn’t to say that I know anywhere near what an actual nurse knows.  I’d have a lot to learn if I were to go into that field, but I do feel like I’ve been given some good practice with Cassie.  She came home with a PICC line once and I had to mix and deliver meds through it.  I’ve dealt with several skin infections and break down.  I’ve had to deal with completely disgusting things that I never want to deal with again.  I guess I’m just saying that I’ve had more experience then most and that it makes me ponder going into the nursing field.  Then again, it is completely different when it isn’t your child who is sick or needing your help.

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

