NaBloPoMo – Day 24

One month from today is Christmas Eve, but it is also my baby girl’s 13th birthday.  How crazy is that??

I look back at the last 13 years and I can’t believe how quickly time has flown by.  If there is one thing I could tell new parents it would be that time flies, enjoy every stage (even those stages are rough at the moment) and take time to be present with your child.

I remember the day before she was born.  My mom wanted to get front and side view pictures of me and I thought she was crazy.  After all, I wasn’t due for another month yet.  Later that night before I headed to the hospital I was on the phone with my mom and I was saying that I didn’t want a Christmas baby.  Her words of wisdom,”You don’t really get a choice in that”.  It was true too.  Early Christmas Eve morning my water broke and through emergency c-section my Cassie Ann was born.  And then came my famous words to my first born child upon seeing her for the first time. “That’s nice, I’m going to sleep now.”  In my defense, I was really drugged up.  I had fought to stay awake to know that she was okay (she had trouble breathing at first) and once I knew she was okay I could just let myself go.  Still… That’s nice, I’m going to sleep now.

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

